tardisshoescollage

Wizard World Comic Con was this past weekend in Columbus, Ohio.  While that may not mean a lot to some people, it does in our family.  My daughter has been planning her outfit for MONTHS.  Yes, you saw that right.

Let me tell you a little story…

This summer, my daughter and I had the luxury of being together ALL THE TIME.  We both became obsessed with Doctor Who.  Ahh, but of course, when it was time for my daughter to go to bed, Momma could not stop her Netflix binge.  Needless to say,  I watched pretty much all the episodes without my daughter.  She definitely does not let me forget it either.

So, my daughter decided she wanted a Doctor Who Tardis dress for Comic Con.  I have absolutely no desire to learn how to use a sewing machine, so my SIL got to work for me.  About a week before Comic Con, I was informed that I was supposed to be making Tardis Canvas shoes to match this wonderful dress.   (If I was told this before,  I most certainly do not remember).

Anyways, what do you do when you need a little inspiration with a project you have never done.  PINTEREST of course.  I am pretty sure I spent a whole day pinning every Doctor Who craft out there, before even starting the shoes.  OOpps.

The Canvas Galaxy Tardis Shoes

  • Cheap Canvas shoes- in case of a mess up
  • Use Acrylic Paints on hand
  • Tape around parts you do not want to get paint on
  • Draw an outline of your Tardis (if you want)
  • Get to painting
  • DO NOT forget to put some sort of coating over the shoes

I was really just winging it.  The hardest part for me was the galaxy, which I had never done before.  I just did alternate layers of black and fun colors, added some glitter and starts, and BAM.  The best part, my daughter LOVED her shoes.  Her whole outfit looked amazing and she got a ton of compliments on how cool she looked, which made her happy.

And that, makes me happy.tardisdresscollage

