OK, I know I say this word a lot, but I LOVE zucchini. No, seriously I do.  And I particularly love getting it from farmers markets or a good friends garden.  However, it has been rather rainy here in Ohio, so I am just now getting my zucchini fix.

Yes, it is one of those things I refuse to buy at the supermarket.  Especially during the summer.

I am just trying to warn you for all the zucchini recipes to come.  I guess I should probably warn my family too. Hehe 🙂

zuccmeme

And yes, I also love the use of memes.  They just crack me up.

Well, here is what you came for…these absolutely divine “meatballs”

Pepper/Zucchini “Meatballs”

Ingredients

  • 1 medium zucchini, shredded
  • 1/2 red onion, diced
  • 1 red bell pepper, diced
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 tbsp. Italian seasoning (Oregano, Basil, Parsley)
  • 3/4 C. Whole wheat Panko breadcrumbs
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp. EVOO

Directions

  1. Heat the oil in the pan
  2. Saute the garlic for about 20 seconds
  3. Add peppers, onions, and grated zucchini and cook about 8 minutes, or until liquid is gone from zucchini
  4. Transfer to strainer and drain excess water, let cool
  5. Once cooled, mix in herbs, breadcrumbs and egg
  6. Form into balls and place on greased cookie sheet
  7. Bake at 375 degrees for 20 minutes
  8. Let them cool before you indulge  🙂

pepperzucchini

*This made 10 “meatballs” and I paired it with some pasta sauce and veggie pasta.  Can you say AMAZEBALLS.  Well, I did anyways.

I hope you enjoy them as much as I did.  Let me know what you think!

